Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 09:30 am
1/22/20 Update: The event appears to be 'sold out.' However, the UF library provides overflow seating near Library East (in Rm 100) where attendees can watch a livestream (see link below).
You are cordially invited to attend a discussion on political division in America featuring author Jon Meacham and former Senator Bill Nelson sponsored by the George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida in co-sponsorship with the Bob Graham Center at UF and the Center for Governmental Responsibility at the UF Levin College of Law.

Doors open at 9 am. Discussion begins promptly at 10 am.

Admission is free but seating is limited. Registration is required for attendance. Register at this link:

A livestream of the event is provided at this link:
Senator Nelson: After serving in the Florida Legislature, U.S. House of Representatives, and as Florida's treasurer, insurance commissioner and fire marshal, he was elected to the U.S. Senate in 2000 and completed his political career after three terms. While serving in the Senate, he was the ranking member of the Senate Commerce Committee, chair of the Science and Space Subcommittee and chair of the Senate Committee on Aging. Senator Nelson has deposited a collection of papers and other historical materials with the George A. Smathers Libraries, establishing a significant collection spanning his multi-decade career in public service. This is the second program of the Nelson Initiative on Ethics and Leadership at the University of Florida.
Jon Meacham: Jon Ellis Meacham is a writer, reviewer, and presidential biographer. A former Executive Editor and Executive Vice President at Random House, he is contributing writer to the New York Times Book Review, a contributing editor to Time magazine, and a former Editor-in-Chief of Newsweek. He is author of several books. He won the 2009 Pulitzer Prize for Biography or Autobiography for American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House. He holds the Carolyn T. and Robert M. Rogers Endowed Chair in American Presidency at Vanderbilt University and is also a distinguished visiting professor in the Department of Political Science at Vanderbilt University.

See Less